Full Report for Listed Buildings
Summary Description of a Listed Buildings
Date of Designation
Date of Amendment
Name of Property
Situated in its own grounds on the E side of Marford Hill opposite the Trevor Arms Hotel.
One of a group of cottages and houses in Cottage Orne style for the Trevalyn Estate while it was under the stewardship of John Boydell. The buildings along Marford Hill were completed by 1820, building phases of 1814 and 1816 are suggested by Trevalyn accounts. In 1814 Julius Flowers constructed a cottage of pise and it is possible that some of the buildings are partially of this material. Altered C20.
Render, slate roof, tall rendered circular section chimneys, 2 storeys, T shaped plan. Symmetrical 3-window main elevation with gently bowed bays on either side of a central bay which has an entrance with ogee head flanked by arched cast-iron multipaned windows with Gothick glazing, later porch. One window above this and one window per floor in flanking bays are all of cast-iron, multipaned with Gothick glazing detail and ogee heads. Dentil cornice throughout, band course. Side and rear elevations have similar openings some with renewed windows, gable ends have kneelers and that to left has a finial.
Barrel vaulted entrance hall has stair with wreathed handrail and open string. Doorways with ogee heads lead off on each side. Ahead another doorway with ogee head leads to kitchen which has heavy chamfered and stopped ceiling beams
Reason for designation
Listed as a particularly well preserved and elegant former Trevalyn Estate house in distinctive picturesque style with good interior features.
Cadw : Full Report for Listed Buildings [ Records 1 of 1 ]