Full Report for Listed Buildings
Summary Description of a Listed Buildings
Date of Designation
Date of Amendment
At end of Nant-y-Gamar Road, on top of ridge, about 500m S of Bodafon Hall.
It is known that a windmill was built on the hill between 1617 and 1642. A mill on the site of the present building is apparently shown on a map of 1748 by Lewis Morris. A windmill is clearly at this site in the illustration in Pennant's "Tour" of Gloddaeth Hall. By 1840, the building was a dwelling the "Old Windmill", the small extension probably dates from then, the attractive conical slate roof dates from about 1930. The building was renovated and extended from the late 1970s.
Two storey windmill tower, with 2-storey extension, and larger modern attached extension. Tapering mill tower, pebbledashed, with pointed slate roof with brick chimney; windows at 2 levels, modern glazing. Small two-storey extension in matching materials, also with brick chimney. Larger late C20 extension not included.
In old tower, ground floor room has 2 exposed beams, upper floor has single stop-chamfered beam.
Reason for designation
Included, notwithstanding modern addition, as picturesque structure with probably C18 origins.
Cadw : Full Report for Listed Buildings [ Records 1 of 1 ]